Tags

, ,

Aylin Green is a multi-media artist who lives and works in New Jersey.  I first met Aylin through my position at Grounds For Sculpture, where she served as a teaching artist. She is currently the Development Associate at Grounds For Sculpture having served in different capacities within the organization over the last decade. Aylin also shares her talents at various organizations in central New Jersey teaching multi-media art and sculpture related classes. If you missed part 1 of the interview with Aylin Green, read it here.

Christina: I have heard that you are working with an artist collaborative and creating new works in metal. Can you talk a little about this collaboration and this new direction?

Aylin: AbOmInOg Intl. is the name of the artist collective based in Trenton, NJ, whose mission is to facilitate sculptors in the creation of cast-metal artworks in a non-commercial setting. Through connections with the Johnson Atelier and a farther reaching network of artists, this group gathers together under the leadership of artist Matt Reilly to execute iron pours. Matt has a cupola, or furnace, affectionately dubbed the Nog, and everyone comes together to lend their expertise or just their sweat equity towards the goal of creating art in iron. The iron pours are spectacular events, and have been demonstrated to the public at both Art All Night in Trenton and at Grounds For Sculpture. The next pour will be at GFS on November 3, 2012. After all these years working at GFS in administrative capacities, my association with the sculptors who are part of the GFS community has been an integral part of my development towards creating metal sculpture. I have great admiration for the work that they do, and for their extensive knowledge regarding the casting and fabrication of sculpture.

A gathering of artists who were involved in the fall pour at GFS.

The sand molds lined up at the Iron Pour at GFS.

Christina: What are some of the projects you are working on in bronze and/or iron?

Aylin: I have been working on a series of pillows in bronze and iron. I first cast an iron pillow from one that I had sewed. I covered it with lace and made an impression of it in a resin-bonded sand mold. From there, I modeled two miniature pillows in wax. I cast 24 little iron pillows at the last iron pour, and I am working on finishing them now.  I have been carefully covering the other little wax pillows with crochet and casting them in bronze. They have to do with the body, with intimacy, and with softness translated through alchemy into the sensual hardness of metal.


The original pillow in it’s sand mold before pouring.

Several wax pillows in process.

Iron Pillow.

Bronze Pillow.

Christina: You have been teaching for many years at various organizations in New Jersey.  What do you find most rewarding about these experiences?

Aylin: I find seeing people make connections with each other and with their own creativity to be the most rewarding aspect of teaching. In my classes, I know I have been successful when everyone feels comfortable and can explore without fear or expectations. My goal is to provide a space for experimentation and shared artistic experiences. I introduce students to other artists’ work, demonstrate techniques, and offer challenges and guidance, but really the most important way to develop artistically is to do your thing. When I see that happening, it is very exciting.

Christina: Do you have any final thoughts that you would like to share with the readers of the blog?

Aylin: My path as an artist is always growing and changing, but what remains consistent is the desire to create. I am not able to do it every day, and I don’t know if that is what I would want, but it is a part of me and my life that I couldn’t do without. I have many different roles to play in my life and they sometimes feel incompatible, but art infuses itself into all corners and has given me direction and purpose when I thought I lost it. For that, I’m grateful.

To see more of Aylin’s work visit her website or facebook page.

